Random crashing and boot times

Forums Operating Systems Windows Server 2008 Miscellaneous Random crashing and boot times

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author

Hi,

I’ve been using my 64bit Win2k8 Server for a couple of months. My system suffers from two things:

1) Random crashing

My system has done this just twice by now. It has happened without any notice or reason that I could come up with so that suddenly my system freezes: first my monitor says that can’t find a display adapter and the green LED goes to orange. During that the keyboard doesn’t respond at all and the whole system basically jams and dies with the display going down first (I think). I can’t find anything from the event viewer. Maybe I just don’t know which tab option to look from? There haven’t been any critical errors that I know of or could find. Two days ago I updated to the newest nVidia driver pool and I hope it fixes the problem but I seriously doubt that. I also disabled the superfetch incase it caused the crashes but the second crash happened right after that.

2) The boot time for my system is awful.

It takes at least a couple of minutes to have a working system. I don’t know why or how. Maybe there is a process that slows the reboot? It just seems to cache stuff for ages. My own opinion is that the Server OS is just supposed to load for a while but after the initial loading it won’t do it and is super fast.

My specs are the following:

Intel Q6600
      Nvidia 8800gts
      6gb RAM
      Asus P5K mobo with a quite new BIOS (gotta check if they have updated something W2k8 related to newer versions)
      W2k8 Server Enterprise x64
      Some crappy Realtek HD Audio Chip that is integrated
      Everything is set up with the newest drivers possible.

Any suggestions and help would be greatly appreciated. Especially regarding the event viewer, I just can’t be so dumb that I can’t find a fatal system crash from the logs of a server OS.