ReadyBoost in Server 2008

For every Wish a topic to keep stat of the progress.

Re: ReadyBoost in Server 2008

Postby gspot » 17 Oct 2008, 08:27

Dude you are awesome! I am using 2008 Server Enterprise 64bit. Waiting for your final installation package.
gspot
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Oct 2008, 11:20

Re: ReadyBoost in Server 2008

Postby gspot » 18 Oct 2008, 08:09

I am using 2008 Server Enterprise 64 bit on Thinkpad T61, and thinking to purchase a 2GB Turbo Memory. Before I saw this post, I thought it was not possible working a Turbo Memeory on 08 Server. I am really excited to see how close it gets to the final succeed here. Hope the final installation version will be soon released, both x86 and x64.
gspot
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Oct 2008, 11:20

Re: ReadyBoost in Server 2008

Postby JonusC » 19 Oct 2008, 05:49

I don't have a 64-bit machine, nor a 64-bit OS to even emulate if thats possible [dont think VMWare can emulate 64-bit can it?]

So until I find someone... capable enough.... of helping me with that, im afraid its only for 32-bit..... :(
Image _________ Image <- Thanks Microsoft!
Image
User avatar
JonusC
Win2008Workstation Expert
Win2008Workstation Expert
 
Posts: 370
Joined: 17 Sep 2008, 08:44
Location: Australia

Re: ReadyBoost in Server 2008

Postby Nevexst » 19 Oct 2008, 05:59

VMware can emulate 64bit OS's.

But the physical computer hardware must be 64bit as well.
Nevexst
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 23 Sep 2008, 16:20

Re: ReadyBoost in Server 2008

Postby JonusC » 20 Oct 2008, 04:55

Nevexst wrote:VMware can emulate 64bit OS's.

But the physical computer hardware must be 64bit as well.


Bugger. I've never ever used a 64-bit machine before, never looked at the system file structure or the registry, as such I have no idea how different they are AT ALL. Eh who knows, maybe I can find someone who knows enough about the internals of a 64-bit OS to port it/adapt it over...
Image _________ Image <- Thanks Microsoft!
Image
User avatar
JonusC
Win2008Workstation Expert
Win2008Workstation Expert
 
Posts: 370
Joined: 17 Sep 2008, 08:44
Location: Australia

Re: ReadyBoost in Server 2008

Postby cviewnet » 28 Oct 2008, 13:54

I'm new so first of all, I want to say hello.

In addition, thanks for the details Windows Server 2008. Appreciated.

Regards,
cviewnet
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Oct 2008, 13:32

Re: ReadyBoost in Server 2008

Postby JonusC » 30 Oct 2008, 06:08

No worries champ! Welcome to the board!

To everyone watching this topic, I AM STILL WORKING ON IT! :P
Image _________ Image <- Thanks Microsoft!
Image
User avatar
JonusC
Win2008Workstation Expert
Win2008Workstation Expert
 
Posts: 370
Joined: 17 Sep 2008, 08:44
Location: Australia

Re: ReadyBoost in Server 2008

Postby Ashell » 05 Nov 2008, 15:21

I'm sure someone has tried this, but why cant you just over ride the security setting in Local Secuity Policy, in the admin tab? It doesnt look like you can added things directly, but you could maybe copy them from vista.
Ashell
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 Oct 2008, 19:51

Re: ReadyBoost in Server 2008

Postby JonusC » 15 Nov 2008, 03:59

Ashell wrote:I'm sure someone has tried this, but why cant you just over ride the security setting in Local Secuity Policy, in the admin tab? It doesnt look like you can added things directly, but you could maybe copy them from vista.


Which security settings? What's this for?
Image _________ Image <- Thanks Microsoft!
Image
User avatar
JonusC
Win2008Workstation Expert
Win2008Workstation Expert
 
Posts: 370
Joined: 17 Sep 2008, 08:44
Location: Australia

Re: ReadyBoost in Server 2008

Postby XaaR » 02 Dec 2008, 22:09

Will it work to just cpoy the files from a WinVista x64 Windir or do I have to modify the files?
XaaR
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Dec 2008, 22:04

PreviousNext

Return to Wish List Progress

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron