Windows Activation – Windows could not be activated

Forums Operating Systems Windows Server 2008 Miscellaneous Windows Activation – Windows could not be activated

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author

I apologize in advance if this topic has already been discussed.
      I have looked through the forum posts already but was unable to find the same issue.
      I’m quite new to Windows Server class OS’s yet I’m very familiar with day to day PC, Mac, Linux and UNIX platforms.
      This is also my first post to this forum.

I installed Windows Server 2008 Enterprise x86 (KRMSVOL_EN_DVD) three days ago and I’ve received, today, a pop-up message that states:

Windows Activation
      Windows could not be activated
      Key management services (KMS) host could not be located in domain name
      system (DNS), please have your system administrator verify that a KMS is
      published correctly in DNS. Learn more online
      http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929826/

Error:
      0x8007232b
      Description
      DNS name does not exist.

When checking the system properties the Windows activation (located at the bottom of the window) notes: 57 day(s) to activate. Activate Windows now.

In reading the Microsoft Help & Support article it states:

RESOLUTION
      To resolve this issue, use one of the following methods.

Method 1: Set up a KMS server
      Configure a computer on the network to host the KMS software. Then, publish the Domain Name System (DNS) settings. For infomation about how to set up a KMS server and for instructions about how to publish the DNS addresses, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
      http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=9893F83E-C8A5-4475-B025-66C6B38B46E3&displaylang=en

Method 2: Use a Multiple Activation Key
      Change the product key to a Multiple Activation Key (MAK). To do this, open an elevated command prompt, and then type the following command:
      slmgr -ipk xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx