USERNAME & PASSWORD

Forums Operating Systems Windows Server 2008 R2 Miscellaneous USERNAME & PASSWORD

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

Hello dear friends,

I have a problem.
      Just installed Windows server 2008 on a third PC. I have no experience in networking by the way.
      The other 2 PC’s are running Windows 7. I can connect with this PC to the other PC in the network by just giving the network password (the one generated in Windows 7).
      The domain is homegroup.

Problem:
      The third new PC, the Windows server 2008 is running perfectly and I when I go to Network I see my other Windows computers like 4500-PC and 4600-PC in the Network window.
      sofar everything fine but ….
      If I click on on of these PC’s let’s say 4500-PC, Windows server 2008 ask for a username and a password.

I tried to give here as username 4500 also tried 4500-PC + the network password generated in Windows 7 for Homegroup. But …. I get the message “Logon unsuccessful.

What do I have to fill out as username and as password and where can I find them on the other PC’s (the windows 7 machines)?

Thanks a lot in advance for the help.

Username: Osama Bin Laden
      Password: DEAD

USA! USA! USA!

Sorry I’m American. Much love to all my friends overseas, (Arris for example). That b**tard deserved to die.

Please clarify your situation for me.

1. By domain are you talking about an actual domain controller (with Active Directory) or the WORKGROUP name (non-domain)?

2. Click on Start button. Right-click on Computer and choose Properties.

Does it say Workgroup: Homegroup
      or

Domain: Homegroup ?

3. By “windows server 2008” i assume you mean R2 correct? Are you running Server 2008 or Server 2008 R2. Please clarify.

The reason i ask these questions is i’m not sure if you are trying to get the Windows 7 “homegroup” feature to work on Server 2008 or if you are trying to access a network share.