Startup performance

Forums Operating Systems Windows Server 2008 Miscellaneous Startup performance

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Hello,

I have been using Win2K8 for about 4 months now. Startup process is now longer than what it used to be lets say 3 months and shutdown process is not that bad. The difference back then to now is 2 softwares which I know for sure is not the cause (tested by uninstalling it).

How to troubleshoot or improve the performance?

Thanks,
      Kris
      DELL D820
      4GB RAM
      64bit Win2K8 Ent
      100GB HDD ~=28GB free

Arris

It is a common problem in all Windows versions that after a while your system runs slower for some reason. A possible cause of this are the programs and services that automatically start up. You can cleanup / tweak services using the Fine-Tuning Services page in the Manual. To cleanup all autostart programs use the Sysinternals Autoruns tool.

Hope this speeds-up your system a bit!

Thanks for the reply.

I have already implemented Services Tuning.

http://www.defraggler.com/
        http://www.ccleaner.com/
        http://www.larshederer.homepage.t-online.de/erunt/

Defraggler – Awesome little defrag tool
        CCleaner – The ONLY worthwhile “Crap Cleaner” for your system
        NTREGOPT – The NT Registry Optimizer defragments and consolidates your registry hive

I highly recommend these three programs to anyone! Peace!

EDIT: On that last one, he also has another software called ERUNT which is effectively a replacement for System Restore. However, I have NOT tested it on 2008. I am considering giving it a go, and making an advanced installer/frontend for it to allow running it from a USB stick at startup [via a cut-down OS to restore unbootable system] and to support user files and/or drivers if needed, etcetera. But no timeframe for this, more important things to worry about 🙂

I’ll give it a try.

But do you think its ‘coz of fragmentation in HDD and Reg?