Solution for Qualcomm Gobi drivers

Forums Operating Systems Windows Server 2008 R2 Hardware Compatibility Solution for Qualcomm Gobi drivers

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Hi

Is there anyone out there with a solution to how to get Qualcomm Gobi to work in Winodws 2008 R2. I have an HP 8530p an ins now dualbooting between Windows 7 x64 and Windows 2008 R2. The only reason for having Windows 7 on this laptop is to use my mobile broadband.

Can’t fint a solution on the web, so I hope that someone in this forum can help!

Arris

Can’t you just extract the drivers from Windows 7 x64 using for example Double Driver, and install them in Windows Server 2008 R2 using the Device Manager?

Good luck and let me know if it works 🙂

Arris

Hi,

I am a newbie on the forum. I have just got Qualcomm GOBI 2000 on my new Lenovo X201s. Card is unlocked and working in Windows 7 – that is proven. In Server 2008 R2 – I successfully installed the drivers from Windows 7 – no visible problems in Device Manager.

My question is – What now? What kind of management software do I need to set up my connection? Server 2008 R2 tries to use the modem in a Dial-Up connection, but this of course will not work as connection to GSM Network does not require dialing.

In windows 7 I use Lenovo Access Connection software which manages connection based profiles successfully. Unfortunately Lenovo Access connection package refuses installation on Server 2008 R2.

Anybody with experience on this topic?

Thanks
        ================================================

One hour later – success !!! I have used the Lenovo Access Connection for Vista x64. It installed flawlessly under Server 2008 R2 and works – now I have my WWAN Connection working.