Greetings from Czech Republic

Forums General Introduction Greetings from Czech Republic

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Hello everyone,

It brings me great joy to read all your posts and the exciting progress taking place with Win2008Workstation, but I can’t just sit on the side and observe, so I have decided to get fully involved myself.

Let me tell you about myself and computing habits. I am a Visual Studio developer, developing with MOSS 2007, SQL 2008 etc. I think like most of you guys, I also run Office 2007. These applications as you know are pretty resource intensive, but if thats not all, I am also an avid gamer, and I also from time to time dabble in some graphic design using Adobe products. All this is quite a tall order for my current hardware, which is a Sony Vaio VGN-AR41S (2.2Ghz Core Duo 2,2GB RAM, RAID 0).

Now I need to tell you a sad tale my friends, when I first bought my Sony Vaio Laptop, I was very dissapointed to see that loading XP on it simply was not practical, due to the lack of driver support, for most of the laptops inbuilt hardware, I tried for about 2 months to get everything working, but eventually was forced to return to using Windows Vista. It was at this stage I was seriously considering Linux, but Linux is not all that people make it out to be, for most Visual Studio Developers, Linux is simply not a practical option, but even if you’re an internet browsing Granny, Linux is not anywhere near as easy to use as Windows. In Linux sometimes simple tasks like installing a zip utility requires “hacking” the installation file, so that it works for your particular distribution, in Windows operations like this are a few clicks of the mouse. I would say there is no question Windows is the more mature desktop OS.